Beethoven Sonata No. 8 Op. 13 (Pathetique) – Daniel Barenboim

Daniel Barenboim breathes fresh life into the timeless Pathetique Sonata. With a rare combination of artistic prowess and erudite knowledge, Barenboim demonstrates a deep understanding of this music that can be simultaneously appreciated on both a cerebral and emotional level.

Though the title ‘Pathétique’ was conferred on Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13 by his publisher, Beethoven consented to its use. lt refers to the soulful Adagio cantabile middle movement, perhaps the most familiar ever written for the piano – a near-continuous stream of melody set to a light accompaniment.

The movements of Pathetique Sonata:

I. Grave — Allegro di molto e con brio 0:19
II. Adagio cantabile 9:46
III. Rondo: Allegro 15:11

The Grammy award-winning pianist Daniel Barenboim has been active on the concert stage since the age of seven, when he made his stage debut in his hometown of Buenos Aires. Well known for his work with the East-Western Divan Orchestra, a group of young Arab and Israeli musicians, he is currently the director of the Berlin State Opera, La Scala (Milan) and the Staatskapelle Berlin. Barenboim is described as “one of the few musicians in the world today who could accurately be describe as legendary”.

Also listen: Liszt: Consolation No. 3 – Daniel Barenboim

Leave a Reply